top of page

My CLIL journey has begun


How does it taste?

Today I took my first huge step into the world of C.L.I.L (Content and Language Integrated Learning, which I will now just call CLIL). CLIL refers to a regular non-language specific subject being taught in a different language to the learner's first language (language, language, language). So, in my case, I taught a science lesson in English to Japanese students. The lesson style is somewhere in between a regular science lesson (in my native language country) and a language lesson, but it is not predominantly one or the other.

The reason I said "huge" is because this was the first time I had done one, and it wasn't just any lesson, it was an Open School lesson. Never shy away from taking risks, I say.

The topic of the lesson was on the taste receptors on our tongue (no specific areas); the language for the different "tastes" (see the blackboard in the picture above); the link between smell and taste; and the surprise of miracle fruits (check it out here). It was a breath of fresh air for me, as I felt this was an opportunity for students to learn and use language meaningfully. Furthermore, it was in my field of interest - science. I cannot take credit for the contents of this lesson, but it was a challenge to modify my language to the Grade 6 elementary school level. I am not referring to the vocabulary for body parts - this was easy to do. Instead, I am referring to the language of instruction. Luckily, the lesson was very hands on, so they were actively learning.

Feedback was very encouraging. You can see plenty of pictures from today on my school's website here - Tokyo Seitoku University Fukaya Junior High School - Open School. Sorry for those that cannot read it, as it is all in Japanese. It basically says I am awesome..... you'll just have to take my word for it.

I have quite a few CLIL lessons planned and ready to put into action over the next few months with a higher age level, which I will keep you informed of. For me, these are exciting and promising times.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page