top of page

The petals have fallen


Shiba-zakura in Kanra-machi

The cherry blossoms have nearly all fallen off the trees around the Kanto area of Japan, which means that the new school year is well and truly underway. As I mentioned in an earlier post, I have been given a new responsibility this year and so far all seems to be going smoothly.

Sakura

The major difference for me this year is a change from high school to junior high school. Both schools are on the same campus and interact with each other quite often, so it is not as huge a change as it may sound.

I am teaching 1st, 2nd, and 3rd years of junior high (all of the grades). I am also teaching what's called 4th grade of the junior high - high school bridging grade. Additionally, I am doing team teaching for one lesson a week with a 1st grade high school class. They are the "top level" students, so it will be interesting to see how they progress. After school, I am also taking special TOEIC classes to try and boost their English in preparation for after school. This, in particular, will be a huge challenge for those students taking this course. It has already gained a bit of publicity around the area, but it is way too early to earn it.

It has been a massive change in terms of my place in the staff room though. I moved my main desk from the high school noise and clutter, to the extremely quite and small junior high. I really miss the atmosphere of being around a lot of colleagues in the high school, believe it or not, and am still trying to adjust to the unsettling peace and quiet. There is definitely nothing to complain about my new colleagues - they are all so supportive and understanding of my situation.

With the first year under my belt, I have a better understanding of how things go. I know the pace of the school through the year; the expectations the school has of the students; the expectations of the teachers to pull their weight in all facets of planning, preparing, conducting and cleaning up school events; and the amazing collegiality of the staff. Everyone knows that feeling of comfort after their first year of work at a new location. It is done. They know me and I know them now. It is a good feeling.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page