top of page

Wake up Stevo!

I don't refer to myself in the 3rd person often. Don't worry.

I looked over some of my recent articles and came to the obvious conclusion that I have been pretty negative. Well, it sounds like I am negative, frustrated and not enjoying myself and my situation. This is not the case.

When I started this blog, I set out to write about my experiences in teaching at a school in Japan, but on another level it is a record of my re-assimilation into Japanese life. For those that have experienced moving from one culture to another very distinct culture, you would be aware of the challenges and waves of emotion one feels. It is a real tussle. It comes with big ups and flat plateaus. There are times when it is tough, and there are times when you high five yourself with the move you made.

But it is hard to communicate this with others because they are your experiences. Your trials and your successes. And these successes take time... take a long time to arrive.

What "success" am I talking about? According to my own definition of "success", it is the feeling of satisfaction knowing that you have improved on a previous situation. In this case, it is understanding, appreciating and accepting the differences in culture between what I grew up with and what I am currently in. I am not talking about an intense session of cultural awareness that one feels when you travel around for 2 or 3 weeks either. In that situation you know that you will return to wherever you came from, so you learn, form an opinion, then leave. No, living in Japan is quite different. I assume it would be a similar challenge in any country, but I do often wonder if it is less difficult in a country that has a more familiar culture or even greater culturally diversity than Japan.

I have seen people from other countries (English teachers from Nth America, UK, Ireland, Aus, NZ etc.) turn into animals over here. They never tried or wanted to learn about the Japanese culture, instead they complained about the lack of their culture here. When they couldn't take it anymore, they would often prove it by saying they're going back "home to reality".

On the flipside, I have seen some people come over for worthwhile intentions. Saying they're here for a short term; learning some language; being geniune and participating in cultural events; gaining and valuing their professional experience before returning to their home country with a plan.

Ok, I have seriously digressed. What I wanted to point out is that difference doesn't mean it is worse. The way my school in Japan is run is massively different to the way my Australian school is run. That does not mean it is a terrible school and there is no hope for those students. It is different, yet there are so many positive attributes to the school.

My intention in this blog is to highlight the relevant differences for me, comparing where I have come from to what I am experiencing now. In actual fact it stemmed from some of the unreal, romanticisized descriptions of Japanese schools I read about in various publications and sites. I wanted to paint a more honest portrayal. One that does not fall into the trap of stereotypes or conversely bitterness. One that shows you that many things in Japan are the same as anywhere in the world, and some things are done a little differently. The way things are done may sometimes be old-fashioned or "backwards", but there may be things that are done in a way that seems impressive to whoever reads it. I get frustrated easily with things to do with edtech here at my school, but that's me. That doesn't mean every school is the same in Japan, just as my school in Australia didn't represent every school there.

But anyway, I want you all to know that I was taking the path of negativity that I was not intending to take. My words can be interpreted from various perspectives - I understand that. But my family is happy and I am happy. I am grateful for all the opportunities that have been afforded me, and I am excited about the various paths that lay in front of me.

I will try to write more positively from now on.

PS.. Oh yeah, I get frustrated with the coffee here too...

Damn, bad start.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page