top of page

Skype lessons

Today I participated in another Skype lesson with a Year 8 history class at my old stomping gound, Brisbane Grammar School. The teachers of the class have been mates of mine for quite some time, so they had a very clear idea of the passion I have for medieval Japanese history. I love it. From around the Sengoku Period (戦国時代、せんごく じだい - "Warring States Period") through to my favourite period, the Bakumatsu (幕末時代、ばくまつ じだい), I devour any non-fiction or fiction I can get my hands on.

Today, the students generated a list of questions they wished to ask me in relation to the pages I have on this website (incl. the videos). So, that would include:

Within these pages, I have included the questions the students asked. I was very impressed with the level of their questions, and not surprised by some of the more "get it off my chest" questions. These are usually the ones that have direct links to any of the pop culture they may be interested in - ninja, weapons etc..

This is an excellent way of building interest in learning. Skype, Google Hangouts or Facetime, any of these methods of connecting to people outside the classroom is brilliant in my mind. How I wish I was able to do that when I was a student? Think of the feeling of connectedness.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page