top of page

Summer daze

Here I sit. At my desk. Trying to think of things to do, while the principal (校長先生, こうちょうせんせい, kouchou sensei) and Head of Staff (教頭先生, きょうとうせんせい, kyoutou sensei) sit to the side of me.

It is the summer holidays. I have no lessons to teach and no club activities to supervise during this break, but... "summer holidays are for the students, not the staff" is what I was told. So, why am I here?

A little while back I asked with the principal about the summer holiday situation, since this was going to be my first time teaching at a Japanese school etc.. I was not sure how things rolled, but naively assumed that we would have holidays just like I did in Australia. How wrong I was. After being told that I had to come to school, followed by a weak attempt to assuage my feelings with "but you will have 3 days off for O-bon and the possibility of taking 7 days 自宅研修 (じたくけんしゅう, jitaku kenshuu)", which translates to "studying at home", I was speechless. It must have been clear on my face, because I was then asked

"What do they do in Australia?".

"We had some sporting commitments here and there (a few days) but would usually have the time off like the students." SNAP!

"Paid holidays?"

"Yes, of course. Unless you work part time."

"Ehh..."

It was blatantly clear that certain people had not really done much research into overseas practises. I only say this, because it is a private school and they are in a position to make changes.

I needed clarification on this though, so I asked a colleague more probing questions. I discovered that the staff do begrudgingly come to school during the holidays, but this is more out of respect for those that must come. That is, the teachers in charge of club activities (tennis, baseball, soccer etc.). So, instead of only a few coming, we all come.

Well, it does kind of force me to get some work done.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page