top of page

The Medical

The purpose of me writing this blog is twofold.

i) To help me remember the interesting experiences along the way. I know for a fact that my memory is not the best (reminded regularly), and I wish I had recorded my happenings the last time I was here (2001-2008).

ii) To inform the reader of the uniqueness of living and working in Japan. The experiences of someone living in a country are often very different to one who travels only.

Today... another one.

Today I had a medical exam... at school. Once an employee reaches the age of 35 at this school (varies for each institution), they are entitled (requested) to give a urine sample and have a chest x-ray taken. There is no charge for this service and the results will be given at a later date confidentially. However, it is the manner in which it was introduced that left me a little amused.

Yesterday, after my final class, I returned to my desk and found what looked like a highlighter pen in an unopened plastic wrapper, just as if someone had bought one at the local 100 yen shop (e.g. Daiso) and given it to me as a present. I picked it up and started looking at the pen inside before actually trying to read the label on the outside. I thought it looked a little odd because it didn't have any ink inside, but the cylindrical shape of the "pen" was like a yellow highlighter. Anyway, I thought I would just put it down and wait for my English-speaking colleague to return from her class and ask her. I should add that there were bundles of them on the desks of the Home Room teachers for each class, so the students were also getting the same "highlighter". I thought nothing of it. Anyway, I asked my colleague and she bluntly said it was a "pee-pole" - that is the actual name of the test stick. All of the students were required to give a urine sample and return the "pee pole" to class the next day (today). There are very clear instructions on how to take the sample and how to label it. I have to say, it is very cleverly designed and hygienic.

As usual, that was not all. I was also required to have an chest x-ray taken, along with all of the 高1年生 (こう いちねんせい kou ichinensei - 1st grade HS students). An x-ray in Japanese is レントゲン rentogen, which is named after the German physicist Wilhelm Röntgen. In many places, they still understand the term x-ray, but a lot of the medical terminology in Japan has a close affinity to the German vocabulary. The change-makers before and during the Meiji Restoration (around mid-1850s to late 1880s) looked to the most influential and skilful people outside Japan to learn from in various fields. For example, the British were naval experts, the Americans offered military expertise, and the Germans/Prussians were asked for guidance with schooling (hence the JHS uniforms) and the medical field. I have taught many medical students in Japan that were required to take an "Introductory German language" class in their 1st year at university.

The x-rays were taken in the mobile "Life Support Clinic" truck that pulled up in front of the main hall.

I dashed down their and had mine taken before the stampede of 1st graders. It was another moment of bewilderment for me. Not only have I grown up with the well-researched medical advice of trying to limit the amount of x-ray radiation over the course of your life, but I also kind of hope the facility that I have it taken in will be suitably safe. I have to be honest, I didn't get that feeling here.

I had to take my shoes off. Step into the van. Smack my head on the roof a couple of times. Strip my shirt off my back and pop on a wrap around Japanese-style shirt. Smack another part of my head on the roof. Step over to the "Thunderbirds" x-ray area and squat down enough for my chest to be pressed up against the right screen and for me to feel extremely awkward. Personally, I wasn't that surprised to see a mobile clinic, considering the length of accumulated time I have been here, but I was flabbergasted at how old the inside of the truck was. It was Soviet-era, knobs and flick switches galore, with hardly any digital numbers at all. I felt like I was stepping into a 1950s documentary on medical testing.

Anyway, I don't want to bag it too much. It was free and the purpose is with the best intentions - to keep the employees and students well informed of their health.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page