top of page

The New School Year Ceremony (Part II)


Today was the actual ceremony for the 1st grade students of high school (= Grade 10 in Aus) and junior high school (Grade 7). So there were plenty of parents and even grandparents attending to see their son or daughter make the next transition in their education. Because I work at a private HS and JHS combo, it is a pretty big deal for their child to get accepted into the school. Although, you could not have noticed this from most of their faces today. It usually coincides with the cherry blossoms in full bloom, which they were, but it was unusually wet and cold today as well.

I encountered my first "difference in culture" moment straight away. All staff were asked to wear 礼服 (れいふく reifuku), which is very formal attire that is only worn at important events like weddings, funerals or... school opening ceremonies. It is basically in between a tuxedo and a dark business suit, but must be accompanied with a white shirt and white tie for weddings/ceremonies, or white shirt and black tie for funerals. I don't own reifuku, so I was allowed to wear just a black suit and the closest colour to white I could find for my tie. Fortunately, I didn't stand out very much at all (more than I already do I mean).

As you would have read in yesterday's post, the main hall was perfectly set up and looking pretty good. The regular staff (me) were seated on the side of the hall facing in towards where the new students would sit. The guests occupied the whole rear of the stadium and the guests of honour sat on the stage. It began with a processional led by the principal, followed by the guests of honour (Chairman, other principals, PTA representatives etc.). Next, the new students were led into the hall by their Home Room teachers to where they would sit - perfectly organised seating for classes 1A - H. However, preceding the entrance, we were asked to clap to welcome them in. This may not sound as bizarre as you read it, and it isn't the first time I have encountered it in Japan either. Asking the audience to clap, in my opinion, feels as though you are being told what emotions/feelings you should have. I thought I would share that with you because I think it would be an eye opener for someone visiting for the first time. In a similar situation to my "Confirmation Ceremony", each student's name was called by their Home Room teacher followed by a loud hai (yes/here). This took a little while to get through the 250 odd students, but I'm sure it made their guests proud. I know it made my wife proud at my son's entrance ceremony today, which obviously I couldn't attend.

There were many short speeches by notable people, such as the Chairman and the principal of the school, but what really stood out for me was the frequent "stand, bow, sit" routines. Every single guest was welcomed by a whole unit (students and staff) bow and complete silence. They were also thanked at the end with the same routine.

Essentially, the whole ceremony was deeply respectful to the institution, the purpose of the education and of the people that enable it. There was the usual bountiful supply of restrained emotion from the students and guests, which could easily be interpreted as strange or lacking warmth to a first-time observer, but I know from experience that the families would release their emotions afterwards.

The first day of lessons begin tomorrow. This is where I will be challenged. No technology. Chalk and blackboard. Class size of 40. Stay tuned.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page