top of page

Getting a job in Japan - part 1


Now that was an interesting experience. Unexpected, somewhat shocking, but a big relief.

After an intitial screening interview via Skype, I was invited to attend an interview with the hiring company in Shibuya, Tokyo. I was informed that the interview would comprise of three segments: an interview, a demonstration lesson, and then a written component. Due to my previous teaching experience, I was verbally pardoned in my Skype interview from completing the demonstration lesson, however word had not been passed on to the other members there that day. Upon reaching the interview location, I was given my materials straight away for the demonstration lesson. The conditions were to give a 5 minute lesson based on a photocopied page from a junior high school textbook (grammar focus: "have to"). Fortunately, the interviewer pardoned me once I entered the room. In fact, it wasn't even a consideration.

My "interview" in that room was nothing like I had ever experienced before. I had already met the interviewer before (via Skype) and established a few similarities/commonalities. I did not expect the interview to be more of a chat than a formal stage of trying to acquire a job. I did not expect the prepared demonstration lesson to be brushed aside and the chat to be more of a therapy session for the interviewer. Yep, that's right. Somehow, the conversation turned into a session of the interviewer sharing personal and deep scars due to recent events in his life. As uncomfortable as it may sound, the interviewer (patient) had been through an enormous amount of trauma that had only just concluded. I completely, completely empathize with his situation and his willingness to release these locked feelings and thoughts. I guess he identified our commonalities and felt this was enough to trust me with his private ordeals. He is a very person and I think I was the right person for him at the right time. I wish him well in his recovery.

So, as I said, I was excused from doing the demonstration lesson and answering any "hard-hitting" interview-like questions. That wasn't the end of the chat though. The interviewer leaned forward and whispered to me that I had "better not bloody well stuff up the written grammar questions, or else I'll rip it up and ask you to do it again". The written component comprised of several grammar related questions and an essay question. My question was to "describe the limitations of a textbook on the communicative outcomes of students".

During the chat, he stressed that I was 100% the right person for this job and deserved to get it above anyone else that he had interviewed. And then this came: "although they often employ people for the wrong reasons". Just when I thought things were going well. He and I both knew that often the superficialities of a person's physical appearance and personality are favoured more than their credentials or experience. As he continued, "they often want a Mr Charisma" to fill their positions. Ridiculous. I knew exactly what he was talking about from my previous experiences in Japan, and I really appreciated his honesty and down-to-earth warning. He was not referring to me, rather the environment that we are in. Just for a second though, imagine what was going through my mind on hearing that. Was I fat? Is it because I have a shiney chrome-dome? As much as I didn't want to consider these silly reasons, they creep in and breed uneasiness and doubt.

I received a follow up email that night that assured me of my suitability for the position. It also informed me of the details to meet the principal a few days later. This would be the final stage. The answer would come immediately after this meeting. Three of us will go. Two will be successful. Damn. I can't stand interviews.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page